Modern history

The Devil's Chessboard: Allen Dulles, the CIA, and the Rise of America's Secret Government

The Devil's Chessboard: Allen Dulles, the CIA, and the Rise of America's Secret Government

An explosive, headline-making portrait of Allen Dulles, the man who transformed the CIA into the most powerful—and secretive—colossus in Washington, from the founder of and author of the New York Times bestseller Brothers.

America’s greatest untold story: the United States’ rise to world dominance under the guile of Allen Welsh Dulles, the longest-serving director of the CIA. Drawing on revelatory new materials—including newly discovered U.S. government documents, U.S. and European intelligence sources, the personal correspondence and journals of Allen Dulles’s wife and mistress, and exclusive interviews with the children of prominent CIA officials—Talbot reveals the underside of one of America’s most powerful and influential figures.

Dulles’s decade as the director of the CIA—which he used to further his public and private agendas—were dark times in American politics. Calling himself “the secretary of state of unfriendly countries,” Dulles saw himself as above the elected law, manipulating and subverting American presidents in the pursuit of his personal interests and those of the wealthy elite he counted as his friends and clients—colluding with Nazi-controlled cartels, German war criminals, and Mafiosi in the process. Targeting foreign leaders for assassination and overthrowing nationalist governments not in line with his political aims, Dulles employed those same tactics to further his goals at home, Talbot charges, offering shocking new evidence in the assassination of President John F. Kennedy.

An exposé of American power that is as disturbing as it is timely, The Devil’s Chessboard is a provocative and gripping story of the rise of the national security state—and the battle for America’s soul.


Part I

Chapter 1. The Double Agent

Chapter 2. Human Smoke

Chapter 3. Ghosts of Nuremberg

Chapter 4. Sunrise

Chapter 5. Ratlines

Part II

Chapter 6. Useful People

Chapter 7. Little Mice

Chapter 8. Scoundrel Time

Chapter 9. The Power Elite

Chapter 10. The Dulles Imperium

Chapter 11. Strange Love

Chapter 12. Brain Warfare

Chapter 13. Dangerous Ideas

Chapter 14. The Torch Is Passed

Part III

Chapter 15. Contempt

Chapter 16. Rome on the Potomac

Chapter 17. The Parting Glass

Chapter 18. The Big Event

Chapter 19. The Fingerprints of Intelligence

Chapter 20. For the Good of the Country

Chapter 21. “I Can’t Look and Won’t Look”

Chapter 22. End Game



Photos Section

You can support the site and the Armed Forces of Ukraine by following the link to Buy Me a Coffee.

If you find an error or have any questions, please email us at Thank you!