Post-classical history

The Conquering Family (The Plantagenets #1)

The Conquering Family (The Plantagenets #1)

Thomas B. Costain's four-volume history of the Plantagenets begins with THE CONQUERING FAMILY and the conquest of England by William the Conqueror in 1066, closing with the reign of John in 1216.

The troubled period after the Norman Conquest, when the foundations of government were hammered out between monarch and people, comes to life through Costain's storytelling skill and historical imagination.


Chapter 1. Where the Planta Genesta Grows

Chapter 2. The Long Years of Civil War

Chapter 3. The Epic Reign of a Great King

Chapter 4. The King and the Archbishop

Chapter 5. The Invasion of Ireland

Chapter 6. The Sin of Absalom

Chapter 7. The Milch Cow of the Third Crusade

Chapter 8. The Lord of the Manor and the Villein

Chapter 9. Melech-Ric

Chapter 10. While the Devil Was Loose

Chapter 11. The Unsolved Mystery

Chapter 12. John Softsword

Chapter 13. With Bell, Book, and Candle

Chapter 14. Magna Charta

Chapter 15. Twilight of a Tyrant

Chapter 16. A Nation Again

You can support our site by clicking on this link and watching the advertisement.

If you find an error or have any questions, please email us at Thank you!